Featured Researchers

Current Researcher
Andrzej Nowak
Professor Andrzej Nowak organized the US-Poland Workshop on Concrete Structures and Materials on October 8-14, 2006. The program included international conference Dni Betonu (Concrete Days) in Wisla, Symposium at the Kracow University of Technology (Politechnika Krakowska) and Seminar at the Warsaw University of Technology (Politechnika Warszawska). For this work, Dr. Nowak received the Award of National Professorship from the President of Poland, Lech Kaczynkski, on February 16, 2007. It is the lifetime title and the highest recognition that Poland grants to anyone in academia.
Current Researcher
Dean Sicking
The White House announced that Dean Sicking, professor of civil engineering, won the nation's highest honor for technology. The National Medal of Technology honors America's leading innovators. As director of the Midwest Roadside Safety Facility, Dr. Sicking was instrumental in developing the award-winning Steel and Foam Energy Reducing Barrier that has been installed at racetracks throughout the country. The SAFER barrier absorbs energy to reduce the crash's impact and then distributes energy over the wall without forcing the vehicle back into traffic.
Current Researcher
Maher K. Tadros
Dr. Maher Tadros is the Charles J. Vranek Distinguished Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering and his research is at the forefront of concrete bridge technology in the United States. His work has garnered numerous national awards and he was elected a "Titan of the Industry" in 2004 by PCI for being "one of the 50 individuals who made positive industry altering contributions in the 50 year history of precast prestressed concrete."