Sustainability and environmental consciousness are overarching concerns with much of NTC's research. NTC's environmental research involves study of air, water and soil issues in roadway construction and vehicle operations. Researchers work with vehicle operators, design engineers, and planners to minimize the impact of roadway construction and maintenance to the environment. NTC has worked on several projects with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), including retrofitting freight trucks with auxiliary power units to reduce idling time and resulting diesel emissions. These projects extensively involved Nebraska-based trucking firms, such as Werner Enterprises and Crete Carriers, for the added benefit of helping local trucking companies save on fuel costs while reducing diesel pollution. In addition, NTC works closely with engineers at the Nebraska Department of Roads to understand and address the current environmental concerns in different areas throughout the state.


Researchers are also working on measures to develop "energy plus" roadways with features that can help generate, rather than simply use, energy. Through a partnership with the city of Lincoln, researchers have innovatively used existing traffic infrastructure to mount a hybrid solar panel and wind energy generator to power traffic signals and save taxpayers' dollars. In this unique system, the excess power can even be supplied back to the main grid. For more information on the benefits of this system and related projects, please visit Energy Plus Roadways


Researchers Email Phone
Admiraal, David dadmiraal2@unl.edu 402-472-8568
Alexander, Dennis dalexander1@unlnotes.edu 402-472-3091
Bartelt-Hunt, Shannon sbartelt2@unl.edu 402-554-3868
Dahab, Mohamed mdahab1@unl.edu 402-472-2371
Dvorak, Bruce bdvorak@unlnotes.unl.edu 402-472-3431
Guo, Junke jguo2@unl.edu 402-554-3873
Irmak, Ayse airmak2@unl.edu 402-472-8024
Jameton, Andrew ajameton@unmc.edu 402-559-4680
Li, Xu xli4@unl.edu 402-472-6042
Rilett, Laurence lrilett2@unl.edu 402-472-1992
Schurr, Karen kschurr1@unl.edu 402-472-2233
Sharma, Anuj asharma3@unl.edu 402-472-6391
Zhang, Tian tzhang1@unl.edu 402-554-3784