Structural research at NTC explores how to design, build and maintain the supporting structures that are integral to transportation in a way that minimizes risk and costs. A particular focus is bridges, which are a vital part of transportation infrastructure, but are especially vulnerable to damage from wear and tear and phenomena such as natural disasters. NTC researchers have developed efficient, reliable risk analysis procedures for assessing highway and railway bridges. Standards for structural safety, risk analysis, and designs developed by NTC faculty have been adopted both locally and internationally.

NTC researchers are also renowned for their work with design and successful implementation of innovative steel bridge elements, including the patented NU I-Girder system. The Structural Laboratory at UNL facilitates the development of safer, more stable, and more cost effective structural components and materials, including advanced steel-reinforced and self-consolidating concretes.


Researchers Email Phone
Azizinamini, Atorod aazizinamini1@unl.edu 402-472-5106
Czarnecki, Artur aaczarnecki@gmail.com 402-472-2159
Faller, Ronald rfaller1@unl.edu 402-472-6864
Farritor, Shane sfarritor2@unl.edu 402-472-5805
Krause, Gary gkrause1@unl.edu 402-554-3212
Nowak, Andrzej anowak2@unlnotes.unl.edu 402-472-1376
Sicking, Dean dsicking@unl.edu 402-472-9332
Tadros, Maher mtadros1@unl.edu 402-554-4842
Tuan, Chris ctuan1@unl.edu 402-554-3867
Turner, Joseph jturner3@unl.edu 402-472-8856
Yakel, Aaron ayakel2@unl.edu 402-472-2110


Project Principal Investigator Sponsor
Foundation Design for High Tension Cable Guardrails Rohde, John Midwest States APT Pooled Fund Program
Foundation Design for High Tension Cable Guardrails Rohde, John Mid-America Transportation Center
Development os a Socketed Foundation for Cable Barrier Posts - Phase 1 Rohde, John Mid-America Transportation Center
Development of Advanced Finite Element Material Models for Cable Barrier Wire Rope Reid, John Mid-America Transportation Center
Impact of Truck Loading on Design and Analysis of Asphaltic Pavement Structures Kim, Yong Rak Mid-America Transportation Center
Risk Mitigation for Highway and Railway Bridges Nowak, Andrzej Mid-America Transportation Center
NDOR Assessment and Evaluation of Timber Piles Used in Nebraska for Retrofit and Rating Azizinamini, Atorod Nebraska Department of Roads
NDOR Comprehensive Evaluation of Fracture Critical Bridges Azizinamini, Atorod Nebraska Department of Roads
NDOR Research on Roadway Performance and Distresses at Low Temperature Kim, Yong Rak Nebraska Department of Roads