Safety is paramount to all NTC research and involves significant interdisciplinary and interagency collaboration. Researchers are working closely with the Nebraska Department of Roads to move toward zero-fatality roadways. This includes investigation into the effect of driver psychology in areas such as risk analysis for commercial vehicle operators and roundabout negotiation. Researchers also are working toward improving hazardous winter driving conditions by developing advanced, cost-effective methods of snow and ice control, such as the development of a preventive anti-icing compound to be applied before winter storms hit. Faculty also created state-wide guidelines for bridge deck de-icing systems to help quickly address dangerous winter bridge deck conditions.

NTC researchers have examined the effect of speed limits on work zone safety, studied ways to improve the safety climate of commercial vehicle operations, and developed advanced techniques to improve safety at intersections and at-grade railroad crossings, which is a major concern throughout much of Nebraska. Safety research involves working closely with the Nebraska Department of Roads to assess and address safety needs, and significantly reduce the number of fatalities on our roadways.

NTC boasts advanced safety testing capabilities, including a crash-testing facility, where remote controlled vehicles manipulated by pulleys are used to test the crashworthiness of guardrails and other roadside equipment. The Midwest Roadside Safety Facility (MwRSF) has been approved for ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation by the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) in the field of safety performance evaluation of highway features and vehicle testing of crash barriers for the tests identified in the Scope of Accreditation.


Researchers Email Phone
Bielenberg, Robert rbielenberg2@unl.edu 402-472-9064
Bishu, Ramaratnam rbishu1@unl.edu 402-472-2393
Corbin, David dcorbin@mail.unomaha.edu 402-554-3237
Faller, Ronald rfaller1@unl.edu 402-472-6864
Farritor, Shane sfarritor2@unl.edu 402-472-5805
Holloway, Jim jholloway1@unl.edu
Jones, Elizabeth ejones1@unl.edu 402-554-3869
Khattak, Aemal akhattak2@unl.edu 402-472-8126
Krenk, Ken kkrenk@unl.edu
Lechtenberg, Karla kpolivka2@unl.edu 402-472-9070
Morrow, Sherry morrows@unk.edu 308-865-8259
Muelleman, Robert rmuellem@unmc.edu 402-559-6706
Reid, John jreid1@unl.edu 402-472-3084
Rilett, Laurence lrilett2@unl.edu 402-472-1992
Rohde, John jrohde1@unl.edu 402-554-3049
Rosenbaugh, Scott srosenba@unlserve.unl.edu 402-472-9324
Russell, Alex arussell2@unl.edu 402-472-0699
Schurr, Karen kschurr1@unl.edu 402-472-2233
Sharma, Anuj asharma3@unl.edu 402-472-6391
Sicking, Dean dsicking@unl.edu 402-472-9332
Tran, Paul ttran@unmc.edu 402-559-3901
Von Essen, Susanna svonesse@unmc.edu 402-559-7397


Project Principal Investigator Sponsor
Foundation Design for High Tension Cable Guardrails Rohde, John Midwest States APT Pooled Fund Program
Foundation Design for High Tension Cable Guardrails Rohde, John Mid-America Transportation Center
Investigation of Factors Associated with Truck Crash Severity in Nebraska Khattak, Aemal Mid-America Transportation Center
Assessing the Risk of Crash for Trucks on Onset Yellow Sharma, Anuj Mid-America Transportation Center
NDOR Optimal Design of Workzone Crossovers Schurr, Karen Nebraska Department of Roads
Decision Tool for Work Zone Control Schurr, Karen Nebraska Department of Roads
Safety Investigation and Guidance for Work-Zone Devices in Freight Transportation Systems Subjected to Passenger Car and Truck Impacts with New Crash Standards Faller, Ronald Dicke Tool Company
Safety Investigation and Guidance for Work-Zone Devices in Freight Transportation Systems Subjected to Passenger Car and Truck Impacts with New Crash Standards Faller, Ronald Mid-America Transportation Center
Safety Improvement at Railroad Crossing Khattak, Aemal Nebraska Department of Roads
NDOR Effect of Phase Countdown Timers on Safety and Efficiency of Operations at Signalized Intersections Sharma, Anuj Nebraska Department of Roads
Intersection Safety Khattak, Aemal Nebraska Department of Roads