MwRSF’s Dr. Ronald Faller Earns UNL Professorship

Headshot of Dr. Ronald Faller

Midwest Roadside Safety Facility’s Director Dr. Ronald Faller was indoctrinated as a Willa Cather professor this semester. The professorship was established in 2001 to recognize faculty members with the rank of professor who have established exceptional records of distinguished scholarship or creative activity. University faculty are selected and appointed five year terms that may be renewed following a review in the fifth year.

Dr. Faller was chosen for this position based on his merits and accomplishments at the University while holding his Directorship. In his position he has led the development of many devices that have become US standards. Under his leadership, MwRSF has received the Breakthrough Innovation of the Year award from NUtech Ventures for the MASH tested, passed, and eligible Delta Crash Cushion. Faller was an integral developer of the first national “Transportation Pooled Fund program”, a State Department of Transportation funded research program dedicated to sponsoring roadside safety research. Other accomplishments include work on 14 patents, chairing the first international roadside safety conference within the Transportation Research Board, and receiving the prestigious Kenneth A. Stone Roadside Safety Award.

The Willa Cather/Charles Bessey professors were announced alongside the University Professorship, Susan J. Rosowski associate professors, and the Aaron Douglas/John E. Weaver professor on the UNL newspage.

Share your News with NTC!

If you are a student, faculty member, or other affiliate of the Nebraska Transportation Center, we are eager to share your news of your work and accomplishments.

Send your information to Madison Schmidt at and it could appear in NTC's website, newsletter, Facebook, and Twitter.